Cardamom Cacao Smoothie

Good morning friends! Happy Wednesday! And happy last-day-of-college to me 🙂

Smoothies are a great way to pack in nutrients and eat something filling while on the go.

Garrett and I accidentally bought 2 bottles of cardamom when they were on sale (don’t ask me how that happened…), and since then we’ve been trying to use them up however we can!

DSC_0233

Last night’s “cardamom special” was a creamy chocolate smoothie. Garrett was out with a friend so I was home alone and I got to indulge in my nightly smoothie craving for once! Since I’ve been pregnant, I’ve always wanted smoothies for dinner. I have yet to figure that one out!

DSC_0234

I used this awesome Vega chocolate protein powder that includes 15 g plant protein and 2 servings of veggies! It’s rich and delicious. If you don’t have this, any chocolate protein powder will do, or raw cacao powder works as well. A couple ice cubes might be a good addition, depending on your protein powder. Mine (without ice cubes) was very thick!

Cardamom Smoothie

Blend everything together in the Vitamix. (Side note: I’ve had 4 blenders in the past 10 years, and all of them except the Vitamix leave chunks of sticky Medjool dates in smoothies. I love this blender!)

Add some cacao nibs for a crunchy, chocolaty garnish and enjoy!

 DSC_0243

DSC_0239

Did you know cardamom can aid digestion, and lower blood pressure and inflammation? Pretty nice spice!

Hope you enjoy the smoothie!

❤ Gina

3 thoughts on “Cardamom Cacao Smoothie

    1. It’s one of the spices in chai tea, it’s a very unique flavor. It goes well with cinnamon, and I see a lot of recipes with baked pears and cardamom…it’s related to ginger, so it has a (tiny) bit of a kick.

Leave a Reply

