Using Essential Oils to Get Fit

Disclaimer: I’m not allowed to name the brand of essential oils I use on my blog in order to comply with the company’s wishes (and the FDA’s rules about commercial speech). EMAIL ME at fitoilsmomma@gmail.com to request FREE SAMPLES, find out why I use the brand I do, or place an order.

  
^super convicting, right?! It’s so easy for me to focus on excuses/obstacles sometimes. But this statement is so true. Just get rid of them, and results start showing up.

When I discovered essential oils four years ago, I had no idea they could improve my fitness. I mean, they’re little bottles of magical liquid, so I shouldn’t have been surprised, but I was! Now I’ve kind of got a routine down (it changes day to day a little bit, but I have a few favorites I use consistently).

  
Peppermint–cooling and invigorating

I can help but feel energized when I take a whiff of this. I pop a few drops in my diffuser with Rosemary during my at-home workouts and I get a big energy boost. At the gym without a diffuser? #1, tell your gym manager to get a diffuser going to purify the air and lift everyone’s mood! #2, pop a drop of peppermint on your tongue or in your (glass) water bottle for a similar effect.

Metabolic blend–like fire in your mouth (in a good way)

I start every workout with a shot of this blend. I put 3-4 drops in a shot glass, fill with water, and I’m good to go. I’ll literally take a shot and go right into my workout at home, no waiting in between. My sinuses clear up and I actually feel more motivated to work out. The citrus is refreshing and the cinnamon is warm. Combined with the peppermint in this blend, that’s where the fire comes from. Bonus: it minimizes sugar cravings when used consistently, and smooths cellulite when applied topically (I use 20 drops in 1 c. coconut oil). Cha-ching! Lots of bang for your buck with this one.

Cypress

A tip I got was to massage a few drops into my legs before a run. I gave this a try earlier this week. I’m going to do it a few more times before I talk more about it. But I mention it here because it enhances circulation and lymphatic flow, which exercise does as well, so I feel like it’s a great way to get the most out of your workout.

• Soothing blend

What good is working out if you’re too sore from one session to do your best the next day? This is where I love the minty fresh soothing blend. I use it before and after a hard workout to ease achy muscles and joints. It is so important to be able to walk upstairs after leg day (the diaper changing table is upstairs in our house, soooo staying downstairs on the couch all day is not an option. Although it should be. Haha).

• Protective blend

When I go to the gym, I keep a little spray bottle with about 10 drops of protective blend mixed with witch hazel to spray down the equipment. Safer than toxic cleaning sprays and it smells amazing. This way, I’m not picking up nasty germs from the benches or handles, and I stay healthier so I don’t miss workouts from feeling run down or having a stuffy nose.

These are my top 5 oils for fitness – what are your favorites?

Gina

Leave a Reply

