Back on the Green Wagon

Hi friends!

The weekend lasted longer for us since Garrett got Monday off work and we took a little trip to St. Pete. Mazzaro’s is our fave lunch spot there and we stopped in for a sandwich before our first visit to the Sunken Gardens (basically gardens in a drained pond/sinkhole 15 ft below street level, in the middle of the city. Pretty cool place!)


For a few months, I had fallen off the green smoothie bandwagon, to be honest. I always loved the flavor of greens in my smoothies but just stopped adding them for some reason (oops). Well, with some inspiration from Jen & Jadah I’m definitely back in the swing of things now!

Saturday was grocery day, and when we got home I immediately made a bunch of smoothie and juice preps for the week. I’m starting to realize prepping meals or snacks is the single most important factor for me to eat healthy foods all week. When it’s prepped, I eat it. Simple as that. When it’s not…I get hungry or run out of time to make healthier foods that (sometimes) require more prep time, so I reach for quick food instead (read: grains, peanut butter, and chocolate chips. No bueno!)


This weekend I prepped 6 baggies with green smoothie ingredients (they go in the freezer, and I just add water or milk, and protein powder before blending) and 4 for green juices (fruits & veg chopped into juice-able sizes, stored in the fridge).

Swiss chard was on sale so I stocked up on that plus a big container of organic spinach from Sam’s Club for my preps.

The details:

Juice preps

1/2 cucumber

1/2 apple

1 c. greens

1 carrot

(after juicing, I add 1 drop Ginger essential oil, 1 drop Cinnamon eo, and 1 drop Lemon eo)

Smoothie preps

1/3 banana

1/2 apple

1/4 avocado

1 1/2 c. greens

1 T. ground flaxseed

(I added 1/3 c. pumpkin instead of avocado to a few of them)

Just add 1 – 1 1/2 c. water or milk and blend away! (add greens last to the prep baggies, so if your blender doesn’t handle greens well, you can blend them + liquid first, and there won’t be any leafy bits).

^ for real!

What are your fave food prep recipes? Do you make the same ones every week, or add new ones to the rotation?

Leave a Reply

