Potato Leek Soup

Hello friends! Last week we picked up a basket of organic produce from a little market called Lakeland Organic. It was $20 for the basket, and we got TONS of veggies for the price. Other than me forgetting to pick up the potatoes that were part of this week’s basket (#fail), it worked out great! We’ve had more variety in our meals and veggies this week as a result.

Since I saw “1 lb. potatoes” and “leeks” on the list of basket items this week, my mind  immediately went to SOUP! (Since I missed the potatoes in this week’s basket, our friends picked them up on the way over for dinner. They saved our dinner since I didn’t notice I missed the potatoes until I started to make dinner!) I’ll take soup any day of the year, no matter the weather. I pretty much winged it for this recipe, although it’s loosely based on the Bacon Potato Soup recipe that comes in the Vitamix Create cookbook. I wanted to use the Vitamix to make this soup, since it’s so easy and heats the soup too, so I didn’t want to wing it so much that my soup didn’t fit in the Vitamix container 😉

It turned out really good, so I had to share the recipe with you! Everyone at dinner loved it too. If not for them I’d have been left with the entire batch to eat myself since Garrett hates soup in all forms, haha!

DSC_0449

Ingredients

(serves 6)

2 large or 3 medium potatoes, diced

2 c. chicken broth

1/2 leek, sliced in half-moons

1 T. butter for pan

Salt & pepper to taste

3 oz. plain Greek yogurt (I used half of one of those single-serving Fage cups)

2/3 c. shredded cheddar cheese

Directions
Boil potatoes in chicken broth until soft, about 10 mins. Heat pan to medium-high, add butter and leeks and sauté until leeks are soft. Salt and pepper to taste.

After potatoes are cooked, drain (reserve liquid!) and add 1/2 the potatoes to blender, along with reserved chicken broth, yogurt, cheese, and about 1/3 of the leeks. I used the soup setting on my Vitamix, but if you don’t have that, blend on high until smooth and creamy. Pour into bowls and top with remaining leeks. Croutons and cheese would be some other good toppings. Comment if you try it and let me know what you think!

 

Leave a Reply

