Italian Chicken Burgers

Hello!

Don’t you love when something you’re cooking turns out so much better than you expected?! We were shopping at Costco last weekend and I almost bought a pack of chicken-kale-mozzarella burgers when Garrett reminded me we can make ground chicken with the meat grinder attachment for our stand mixer (I had completely forgotten about it! Saved us $10 right there!).

I figured chicken burgers would be a healthy lunch option that would be easy to make ahead of time on prep day, but I was pleasantly surprised when they also turned out juicy and flavorful! I had goat cheese on hand and I built the recipe around that because I knew it would add a little moisture to the chicken (which is naturally drier/more crumbly than beef). I used one pack of chicken thighs from Costco (a little over a pound) and that made 5 burgers.

DSC_0817

(I’m loving the huge windows in our new house! So much light for picture-taking!)

Ingredients

1 1/4 lb. ground chicken

1 egg, scrambled

2 T. goat cheese

3/4 t. salt

1/4 t. oregano

1/8 t. garlic powder

1/4 t. basil

 

Directions

Mix all ingredients well in a bowl. Form into 5 patties and cook at 350 degrees until edges are done, flip and cook for a few more minutes. I just fried them in a pan with a little coconut oil.

Roasted red peppers, sautéed kale, or a little mashed sweet potato would taste great inside the burgers too!

Leave a Reply

