Upper Body Workout + Workout with Your Dog

Happy Monday! I love the start of a new week (most of the time) because it means a new beginning to be productive and work toward my goals! Today is the day for several holidays (including National Eight Track Tape Day…hmm) but the one that I like most is National Pet Day!

This article on 13 Fun Ways to Workout with Your DogΒ had some new ideas I hadn’t thought of before (and made me miss my Weimaraner/Golden Retriever doggie Rita, who we gave to another family after Judith was born and I couldn’t keep up with Rita’s super high energy needs anymore 😦 It’s bittersweet, butΒ I know she’s happier).

For the past 12-ish weeks I haven’t had to think about my workouts since I was doing a challenge with workouts on DVD (it was TERRAfit, in case you want to check it out – it combines 2 of my favorite things, essential oils and fitness!), and I really enjoyed them! The workouts are repetitive enough that you can get the hang of it quickly, but challenging enough that you’re gasping for air after the first cardio set (there are 3 strength and 3 cardio sets in each workout).

Now that TERRAfit’s over, it’s back to writing workouts for me! Last weekend I wrote a super challenging total body one, but I’m going to save that to share with you later in a project I’m working on πŸ˜‰ For now, here’s a fun (I’m using that term loosely) upper body workout that’s sure to fire up and strengthen your arms. Try a little Peppermint oil or Soothing Blend on your arms before you start – they’ll cool down, feel a little tingly, and you’ll get an energy boost to power through your workout! (If you have sensitive skin, go easy on either of these two essential oils – sweating will open your pores and make them feel more intense, which most people love, but can be too strong for others.) All you need are a set of dumbbells at a medium weight (5-15lbs works for most people). For the first portion, keep moving at a fast pace. Rest for 1-2 minutes after each round.

Warm up (5 mins)

15 push-ups

Side plank with lateral raise

15 one leg bicep curls (engage core to keep your balance)

Tricep dips (hands on floor, lift hips into high bridge as you straighten arms)

15 one leg back rowsΒ (engage core to keep your balance)

30 second static squat with shoulder press (hold squat position as low as you can, shoulder press overhead)

15 bicep hammer curls (regular speed)

15 bicep hammer curls (slow, twice as long as regular)

Repeat 2-3x

 

2 minutes cardio: 30 seconds each – jumping jacks, mountain climbers, skaters, burpees

10 push-ups

Repeat cardio and pushups.

Cool down – stretching, walk, foam roller

 

Enjoy the burn!

❀ Gina

 

3 thoughts on “Upper Body Workout + Workout with Your Dog

  1. Hey, Gina, I just found your link on facebook and thought I’d drop by your blog to say hello. Your blog is looking great – keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

